KHSAA Board of Control Meeting

March 7, 2014 at 1:00 PM Special Meeting KHSAA Board of Control, Conference Call

Attendance Taken at 1:05 AM

Present Board Members: John Barnes, Bill Beasley, Carrell Boyd, Donna Bumps, Kim Parker Brown, Ron Dawn, Alan Donhoff, Gwen Gibbs, Dana Guyer, Scott Hawkins, Jerry Keepers, Lea Prewitt, Jeff Saylor, Stan Steidel, Henry Webb, David Weedman. Absent Board Members: Art Davis, Henry Webb.

KHSAA Staff: Julian Tackett, Chad Collins, Marilyn Mitchell

Convene Full Board of Control

President Beasley convened the Board.

Call to Order - Bill Beasley, President

Commissioner Request Pending Outcome of Circuit Court Stay

When the KHSAA is in litigation, the Commissioner is empowered to handle the matter along with counsel in the Circuit Court. The Commissioner can then appeal the ruling to the Kentucky Court of Appeals without further Board action. However for a case to be appealed beyond the Kentucky Court of Appeals to State Supreme Court, the Board must authorize the action. This safeguard is in place to ensure that the budget is properly monitored and that strategy decisions for key litigation are made in consultation with the Board.

The Commissioner requests the Board to allow moving forward to the Supreme Court if the situation arises in the issue of two separate cases involving Cordia High School students as this is an extremely critical case as it relates to the enforcement of rules the membership has enacted to govern themselves.

Motion Passed: To empower the Commissioner, in the event that the appeal is denied in either case involving two Cordia students, to take the matter to the Kentucky Supreme Court passed with a motion by David Weedman and a second by Steve Riley. John Barnes Yes, Bill Beasley Yes, Carrell Boyd Yes, Kim Parker Brown Yes, Donna Bumps Yes, Ron Dawn Yes, Alan Donhoff Yes, Gwen Gibbs Yes, Dana Guyer Yes, Scott Hawkins Yes, Jerry Keepers Yes, Lea Prewitt Yes, Steve Riley Yes, Jeff Saylor Yes, Stan Steidel Yes, David Weedman

Adjourn

Motion to Adjourn: Passed unanimously at the 13 minute mark of the conference call.

Bill Beasley, President

Date

Julian Tackett, Commissioner

Date